Sunday, March 27, 2011

So it's been a while...

Yes, I realize that, as of late, I've kind of neglected to update. And I'm aware that to SOME people (cough-C-cough) I'm a failure. But whatever, I'm alive and I still have my wallet, so I think I'm doing pretty good.

This last month has gone by much quicker than I would have liked.
During this time I have done a lot of growing up. I've learned to navigate the bus route(ish) and open a bank account, and I've been working a full month now and STILL love my job. There aren't a lot of people who can say that.
I mean really, I look forward to work every day. I don't look forward to getting up early or having to catch the bus (because sometimes ((once)) I missed it), but on the whole there is a lot more that I like about my job than I dislike - such as learning something new every day, the people there, and the atmosphere in general. I'm one of only two girls in the kitchen, so the guys are really nice to us. A (the other girl in the kitchen) only works 3 of the 5 days I work there, so on the off 2 days it's always Gang Up On Kenzie Day. And honestly, I wouldn't have it any other way.

So, on a more personal note, I'm still pretty heartsick.
I mean yes, I have a BB so I'm able to keep in closer contact with my parents and siblings, but it's not the same as having them here to hug and tell them I love them (because I DO love them). It's so strange to me, living in a home with people whom I do love but hardly know. We all live such separate lives, and while it's rarely uncomfortable, and while the house is beginning to feel like home, it's not the same as Home. Where my family is, where my best friends are, where my Church family is, where my dog is. Oh man, do I ever miss my dog.
I LOVE YOU, CAFE!!!!!!!

Moving on, I have done a ton of awesome stuff in the past month living in Edmonton.
I've gone on a HUGE roller coaster (facing my fear of heights), gone on a short road trip to an amazing camp in the middle of nowhere (I went for a walk and slipped in a snow bank and upset some geese and got lost and slipped into the river and got unlost and built a snowman and saw squirrel blood in the snow and got lost again and fell into another snow bank and ate some smarties and sat on a bench (IN THE SUN!!!) and tried to dry out my shoes and found my way back to the big building and was lent a pair of sweats so I could dry out my clothes.
THEN I attended common ground), fallen in love WITH THE TRAIN, explored the city, gone on long walks through my neighbourhood, met a whole bunch of awesome people, gone to a bar on St. Patty's day, visited with my Great-Great Grandfather, built and Acorn Horn Snowman (he was awesome. Now he's dead D: ), gotten to know my little cousins better, learned a ton about the culinary industry and learned even more about myself.
I really can't wait to se what the month of April is going to bring!

On a financial note, things are doing pretty good.
I still need to learn how to manage my money better, because it's the little things that are going to be my end.
I guess that in a way, I feel like I have a lot of money in my account because I can't see where it al needs to go.
Admittedly, my income waaaaay surpasses my output, but still, I need to save for college and whatnot. I'd like to be able to become more independent, and maybe one day own a car! (HA, not really. They're a lot more work then they're worth, I think. I just dislike my bus schedule.)
I WOULD, however, like my own apartment. Well really I'd like to room with someone AWESOME (and you know who you are!!) so that had better get underway soon!!

I guess I should wrap things up, I've got to get to sleep so I can be lucid in the mornings.
To anyone who reads this, from back home, my travels or my new life, I really do appreciate you being in my life (unless you're a stalker, then WELCOME!), and I truly look forward to the future.

Don't Panic.


Tuesday, March 8, 2011

Bus Misadventures all over the place.

So, this morning I took a dry run to work at the time that I'd normally need to go, and after extensive research and much frustration (this city is retarded, I swear) I figured out what I needed to do
So I got up early, ate a Breakfast Of Champions (miniwheats!!!!!) and headed out the door.
I got to the bus stop all nice and early because I didn't want to miss my bus, but getting there nice and early is a bad idea when it's -15C out, let me tell you.
But I waited, and the bus arrived right on time. It was fantastic.
The ride went exactly as planned, and I arrived to the LRT station right on time. The train came 1 minute (literally) after I arrived, and I took it Century Park like a pro.
Then I got a starbucks!! And I'm really jittery 2 hours later.
Back to the LRT I went and took it back to Southgate, and then the real challenge stared me in the face: which bus out of the billion there did I take home.
I knew that my route was either 32 or 33 (both go past my home at one point or another) so I strategically placed myself in the middle of the two so I could see which one came first.
Bus Route 33 came first, and it said Meadows on it, which is the route that I took to get to southgate yesterday, so I was all stoked thinking that I was about to be a champ and get on the right bus the first time.
Wrong.
The bus driver stepped out just as everyone was boarding and I was like "meh, whateva, I know how to get home, I'm the master of the bus routes." So I just sat down and looked official and read my book (Lord of the Flies by Golding. Freaking intense book, btw). But, lo and behold, when I looked up I realized that I was driving past my chiropractor's office. Which is on the other side of town from where I lived.
And I was like, "...oh crap."
So I got up and talked to the driver, who just so happened to be the driver from the day before! The one who was really nice.
I said "So, at this point I'm guessing I took the wrong bus if I wanted to get to Riverbend, right?"
And he laughed at me.
He LAUGHED at ME!
So I laughed too, thinking that if I was nice to him he'd help me get home.
So he told me that I was on the wrong bus, right route.
You see, one bus goes east, and the other goes west.
I needed to go east, and I went west.
Not the best idea.
But he told me to stick around because we were going a little further west, then we'd stop back at Southgate, then we'd be going East (which is home for me).
So I took a seat, and Gary the Bus Driver and I had a jolly good time, talking about everything from God to Mexico to Real estate to popcorn.
It was great.

An hour and 10 minutes after I had first boarded the bus, I was dropped off at my stop.
A ride that was supposed to take 20 minutes took a lot longer than that, but I learned a lot and made friends with someone who has worked on that route for 20 years.
I felt like it was a morning well spent.

I have to leave to go to training at work in a little while, and Gary the Bus Driver even helped me plan my route for the day and told me how not to get lost.

So now I TRULY am Master of Route 32 And 33 (yes, that's now my official title.) and I feel ready to get to work and home safely every day.
This is great.

Now I just need to learn how to get to other places. Namely church.
Maybe tomorrow.

Don't Panic.

Monday, March 7, 2011

Real life is beginning.

And fast.
Today is Monday, and I moved into my new house on Saturday.
It's been an interesting experience, living with extended family. They've been amazing and accommodating in every sense of the word, and they even drove me to church on Sunday. But it's much different living here than living at my grandparents house.

So today I went on a dry run on the bus, and it was an interesting experience.
I misread the bus schedule and ended up waiting in the little bus shack for 35 minutes. When the first bus rolled around I asked the driver if he went to Southgate and he said no, he was going to West edmonton mall (which would have been a much more desirable destination, let me tell you!) so I sat there and waited. And waited. And waited some more. Then another bus came by and I asked again if he went to Southgate, and same story. He went to WEM. But, he did say that my bus would be there soon, so just hold tight.
Lo and behold, when the next bus came, it was for Southgate. And boy, were my toes happy. They were thinking about running away. But they couldn't, because they were frozen.
The Bus Doors Opened And: it was the same driver from the first bus. He laughed at me and asked if I had been waiting there the whole time, and I had. He said "Well then you should have just come for a ride with me, it would have been a lot warmer!!"
I completely agree.
So I got on and rode the bus to Southgate, and from the Central Station I got on the LRT (light rail transit, an awesome train-like thing that confused the heck out of me) and walked the coldest 4 minute walk of my life.
It was fantastic.

And tomorrow I begin work.
Which is both exciting and scary, because it OFFICIALLY marks the beginning of my life.
It will be the beginning of ME being in charge of ME.
Crazy, right?

There's a ton more that's happened in the last couple of days (like the moving in process and the family dinner last night that was AWESOME!!) and I'll write about that soon.
I REALLY need to buy myself a computer because I'm using my cousin's at the moment.

Time to go shopping :)

Don't Panic.

Thursday, March 3, 2011

Life is about to change.... again.

I feel like it's happening all over again, and it's both exciting and scary.
After being here for a month and literally not doing much (....that's a lie. I've done a lot. But I haven't DONE anything, you know?) on Saturday morning I'm moving into the big city of Edmonton.
It's crazy awesome because I'll actually be able to get out and do stuff, but on the other hand I'll officially be living under my own law. And for those who know me, that's dangerous.

But it's happening, and I'm excited.
On Sunday I plan on taking the bus all by my self for the first time in Canada.
And that makes me want to pee my pants a little bit.
But I'm sure I'll be fine.

So for the past week we've been working on getting my great-grandfather settled in his new nursing home, and oh man, is this man amazing.
He's 90 years old, and has all of the ladies in the home under his thumb. They all LOVE him, and he's so smooth. It's given me SO much hope.
I mean, he was in the hospital since the 28th of December and just Tuesday he was placed back into the home where he lived for the past 11 years, and everybody there adores him, and he was super happy to be back.
He's witty and he has a sick, biting sense of humor that I absolutely love.
He's gonna do just fine.

Tomorrow we're babysitting the munchkins all morning so I'll be focusing on packing and getting some work for literature done.
Man, this whole online schooling thing is laaaaaaaaaame.
I ALREADY DID 12th GRADE, PEOPLE. I didn't want to have to retake freaking classes.
But alas, that is what has happened.
Whateva.
It's being done, bla bla bla, I'm awesome.

Anyways, I need to do some "suggested reading" for a freaking book report (a book report! What, am I 7?!) so I'll update when I can.
......
I need my own laptop.

Don't Panic.