Sunday, February 27, 2011

Catering is not my calling.

You know, I don't know why I always do this to myself.
Yesterday I worked 14 and a half hours with PK catering, which is seriously one of the best catering companies whose food I've ever tasted.
It was a long but awesome day, and we did everything from setting up the tables to polishing the silverware and folding napkins and arranging centerpieces to preparing the food and making the salads and putting all of the condiments in little bowls to baking the main dishes and garnishing and making everything look pretty to cleaning up and doing dishes in the end.
It was a really intense day, but it was quite fun.
I have, however, decided once and for all the catering events is NOT what I want to do with my life.
I mean, doing it every once in a while is great, and I'll HELP cater as much as I'm asked t. But actually have to organize everything and make things happen?? No. Not for me.

On Friday I went to a youth group on the south side of Edmonton, and as always, I really enjoyed the people there.
It's cool, because it's just a place for people to hang out and play dodgeball, and everyone's so cool. My cousin J picked me up from there, and I spent the night at her house.
We woke up early the next morning to be at the catering hall at 9:30am, and from there the day took off.
We started by getting all of the tables set up and made to look pretty, and since 2 of my cousins were working there too, we all got to catch up and chat while we were doing all of the tedious, menial tasks.
Dinner was to be served around 7:15, and while that sounds like there would be lots of time between 9:30 and 7:15, you'd be surprised at how quickly it goes by.
I literally could not believe when 6:oo pm rolled around, which is when The Pig was brought in.
Now, you need to understand that this was no ordinary pig. The Pig was a smoked pig that has essentially just been hacked up. It was disgusting. The man who brought in the pig hadn't done anything to dress it up, and there was congealed blood all over the place. He hadn't even stuffed the pig's mouth, so here was this huge pig's head, mouth gaping and absolutely burnt all. It's tongue was hanging out and the inside of it's mouth was just black, and it's teeth were disgusting. Oh, just thinking about it gives me the heebyjeebies.
Then, around the same time that the pig arrives, two guys come in. Usually I'm all for meeting new people, but these boys were 17 going on 12. They were immature and never stopped talking. Plus, they slacked off the whole time. Good fun, really.
But let me just tell you, PK Catering knows how to do a good dessert table. There were tarts and tasty squares and cakes and fruit platters, and it was all amazing. As I was setting things out I kept getting compliments on how much people loved the food and the presentation.
Although it was a long day, I've had longer, and it wasn't as much work as I was expecting. Everyone (except for the boys) shouldered their fair share of work and it went by quickly.

Well, it's snowing.
Again.
I think I've said this before, but I really dislike the snow. And the cold. Even though I'm really sore right now (from being on my feet and running around all day yesterday - mainly ankles and back) I still don't like the fact that I'm all cooped up in the house. It feels kind of like prison sometimes. There's 2 options, which is reading or tv. I don't like being on the internet that much because apart from being painfully slow and temperamental, the internet is in my grandparent's room. It's a little weird.
I mean, if I had access to a bus system it wouldn't be so bad because I could go and hang out with friends or go to a mall or something, but sometimes I'll go for days without seeing anyone, and for me, that's crazy.

I've said this before, but this time I really have no choice - I'll be moving into Edmonton sometime this week. I begin work on Tuesday the 8th, and I still need to get used to the bus system before I start. I'm looking forward to this, but I'm afraid the monotony of it all will get to me and I'll be unhappy. It's not like I won't have options, but I think that this will be the best place for me, and I'll just suck it up!
Don't get me wrong, I'm SUPER excited! But those who know me well know that I'm prone to boredom when it comes to pretty much anything repetitive.
That's why I loved the property management so much; there was always something different to do, always something new. Even though it sucked up my whole life and made it so I had virtually no social life, I really enjoyed it (until the end).

Snowman building is 0 for 3. I've tried and tried, but it's still too bloody cold, and I don't appreciate that one freaking bit.
But it'll come.
Now I'm just looking forward to spring when I can wear shorts and skirts... anything but jeans.
I miss sunshine and warm wind and the ocean and my family and my dogs and my room and sunshine.
I'm still heartsick, I guess.

Well, I think it's time to have a shower and try going for a walk. Even though it's blizzarding it's only -8, which is hilarious (not really...) because when it's -25, it's TOO COLD FOR SNOW.
Gross, right?

I'll post how my adventure goes.

Don't Panic.

No comments:

Post a Comment